56 new entrants in Bharatiya Janata Party candidate list, anger rises

Mar 31 2014, 09:23 IST
Comments 0
SummaryFORMER minister and veteran leader Jaswant Singh isn’t the only one the BJP left out in the cold, picking old Congress hand Col. Sonaram Choudhary over him.

justify that the choice of candidates was governed by winnability and the need to balance social groups. “There are only about 7 per cent Thakurs in Barmer while Jats constitute 25 per cent of Jaswant Singh’s constituency,” said a party leader.

However, that logic does not hold in the Awadh region of Uttar Pradesh. The tickets to Jagdambika Pal (Domariyaganj), Kirti Vardhan Singh (Gonda) and Brijbhushan Sharan Singh (Kaiserganj), state leaders said, could rub backward communities the wrong way.

Moreover, in some cases, the beneficiaries are complete greenhorns, fielded from vital seats, including former Army chief Gen V K Singh (Ghaziabad), former Mumbai police commissioner Satyapal Singh (Baghpat), former home secretary R K Singh (Ara) and actor Paresh Rawal (Ahmedabad East).

In West Bengal, several from the entertainment industry have got tickets.

Single Page Format
Ads by Google
Reader´s Comments
| Post a Comment
Please Wait while comments are loading...