Arvind Kejriwal's AAP makes mark in Punjab; Slight gain for SAD-BJP

May 16 2014, 22:12 IST
Comments 0
SummaryOf the 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab, AAP took four, ruling SAD won four and its ally BJP bagged two.

Making its debut in Lok Sabha polls, AAP today bagged four seats in Punjab where the ruling SAD-BJP combine failed to score any significant gains despite the Narendra Modi factor even as Congress took a beating in the state.

BJP increased its tally from one to two but suffered a jolt as its senior leader Arun Jaitley lost to Congress's Amarinder Singh in Amritsar, the seat which Navjot Singh Sidhu had won in 2009.

SAD remained stuck at four seats as in 2009 but it was new entrant AAP which emerged as a force in the state by clinching four seats, its most significant success anywhere in the country.

Of the 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab, AAP took four, ruling SAD won four and its ally BJP bagged two. Congress had to be content with three seats.

In the 2009 Lok Sabha polls, Congress had picked up eight seats while SAD had taken four with BJP following on one.

But in a major setback for BJP, its leader of opposition in Rajya Sabha Arun Jaitley was defeated by former Chief Minister Capt Amarinder Singh in Amritsar, which was the most-watched contest of the polls in Punjab.

What was surprising in the state was the emergence of AAP. The party bagged the seats of Sangrur, Faridkot(R), Fatehgarh Sahib(R) and Patiala, from where Union Minister Preneet Kaur lost.

Comedian-turned-politician Bhagwant Mann bagged Sangrur seat by defeating Rajya Sabha MP and SAD nominee Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa and sitting Congress MP Vijay Inder Singla. Mann registered a win by 2,11,721 votes, the highest by any candidate in the state.

BJP's Vijay Sampla won by the lowest margin in the state of 13,582 votes against Congress MP Mohinder Singh Kaypee in the Hoshiarpur(R) seat.

Sitting SAD MP Paramjeet Kaur Gulshan tasted defeat at the hands of AAP's Prof Sadhu Singh in Fardikot(R) seat while AAP's Harinder Singh Khalsa downed Congress candidate and sitting MLA Sadhu Singh from Fatehgarh Sahib(R).

AAP's Dr Dharamvira Gandhi drubbed Amarinder Singh's wife Preneet Kaur in Patiala, the seat which has been a bastion for their family.

Although BJP lost Amritsar, the party won the Gurdaspur and Hoshiarpur(R) seats.

Former Union minster and BJP candidate Vinod Khanna thumped Punjab Congress chief Partap Singh Bajwa in Gurdaspur.

SAD retained the Bathinda, Ferozepur and Khadoor Sahib seats and managed to wrest the Anandpur Sahib seat from Congress.

In Bathinda, sitting MP

Single Page Format
Ads by Google

More from Lok Sabha Elections 2014

Reader´s Comments
| Post a Comment
Please Wait while comments are loading...