Assets of 165 re-elected Lok Sabha MPs shoot up by 137 pct; Shatrughan Sinha tops the list with Rs 131 cr

May 22 2014, 18:58 IST
Comments 0
Shatrughan Sinha's assets jumped from Rs 15 cr in 2009 to Rs 131.74 cr in 2014. PTI Shatrughan Sinha's assets jumped from Rs 15 cr in 2009 to Rs 131.74 cr in 2014. PTI
SummaryShatrughan Sinha's assets jumped from Rs 15 cr in 2009 to Rs 131.74 cr in 2014.

The assets of 165 MPs re-elected to the 16th Lok Sabha have on an average risen by a whopping 137 per cent between 2009 and 2014, and the highest increase in assets among them was that of BJP's Shatrughan Sinha.

According to a report of Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), the assets of the actor-turned politician who was re-elected from Patna Sahib seat in Bihar, grew by a whopping 778 per cent in the span of five years.

Sinha's assets jumped from Rs 15 crore in 2009 to Rs 131.74 crore in 2014, which is an increase of Rs 116.73 crore. Second on the list is BJD MP from Puri constituency of Odisha, Pinaki Mishra whose assets increased from Rs 29.69 crores in 2009 to Rs 137.09 crores in 2014.

Former Union minister and NCP leader Sharad Pawar's daughter Supriya Sule, who won from Baramati constituency in Maharashtra, is on the third position with her assets increasing from Rs 51.53 crores in 2009 to Rs 113.90 crores in 2014, a rise of Rs 62.37 crore.

The civil society group, ADR have analysed the affidavits of 165 out of 168 re-elected Mps. The rest of the MPs were not analysed due to unclear or incomplete affidavits uploaded on the ECI website, ADR said.

"The average asset growth for these 165 re-elected Mps, between the Lok Sabha Elections of 2009 and 2014 is Rs 7.40 crores which is an increase of Rs 137 per cent," the ADR report said.

The report reveals that the average assets of these 165 re-elected MPs fielded by various parties in 2009 was Rs 5.38 crore. Their average assets in 2014 have grown to Rs 12.78 crore which is a rise of Rs 7.40 crores.

When it comes to parties, the highest rise in assets was registered by the re-elected MPs of Shiromani Akali Dal whose assets rose from Rs 31.75 crore to Rs 58.88 crore.

This was followed by Jaganmohan Reddy's YSR Congress whose candidates' assets grew from 18.53 crore to 29.06 crore. Third on the list is Biju Janta Dal (BJD).

Assets of the party MPs grew from Rs 7.09 crore to Rs 24.15 crore.

N. Chandrababu Naidu's Telugu Desam Party (TDP) is fourth on the list with its MPs' assets growing from Rs 4.44 crore to Rs 17.03 crore. They were followed on the fifth position by MPs

Single Page Format
Ads by Google
Reader´s Comments
| Post a Comment
Please Wait while comments are loading...