Delhi polls verdict: AAP shines, body blow to Cong, BJP short of majority

Dec 09 2013, 09:37 IST
Comments 0
Arvind Kejriwal's AAP has emerged as a strong force, decimating the ruling Congress government in Delhi. (IE Photo) Arvind Kejriwal's AAP has emerged as a strong force, decimating the ruling Congress government in Delhi. (IE Photo)
SummaryBJP got 32 seats while AAP got 28 seats; Congress was routed with just 8 seats in bag.

The debutant Aam Aadmi Party made a spectacular entry in electoral politics by winning 28 of the 70 Assembly seats in Delhi with the AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal beating the three-time Congress Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit and stopping BJP short of a majority in polls.

As per results and trends, BJP got 32 seats while AAP, born following the civil society movement against corruption by Anna Hazare, got 28 seats.

Following the trends that showed that Congress was facing a rout in the Assembly, Dikshit conceded defeat sending her resignation to Lt Governor Najeeb Jung and said the party will analyse what went wrong in the election.

Delhi Assembly Election results 2013

Sheila accepts defeat

"We accept our defeat and we will analyse what went wrong. We respect what the people of Delhi have decided and thank them for supporting us for last 15 years," Dikshit told reporters at her residence during a brief appearance after sending her resignation to Jung.

The three-term Chief Minister herself lost to Arvind Kejriwal by a huge margin of 25,864 votes in the New Delhi constituency in a shocking defeat.

Dikshit, considered one of the most successful woman politician of her time, has the distinction of being the longest-serving woman Chief Minister in independent India.

A number of Congress heavy-weights including cabinet ministers lost in the election as AAP made a strong dent into Congress' support base.

Harsh Vardhan congratulates Kejriwal

BJP's chief ministerial candidate Harsh Vardhan thanked people of Delhi for giving the party the maximum number of seats.

"I am confident that we will be able to serve the people of Delhi," he said, declining to take questions about the formation of next government as the party looked short of majority in the assembly.

Vardhan extended his wishes to Arvind Kejriwal of AAP and the outgoing Chief Minister.

"I will congratulate Kejriwal on the good show of his party against expectations. I will also offer my thanks to Dikshit for serving Delhi for 15 years," he said.

Vardhan won from the Krishna Nagar constituency with a whopping margin of over 43,150 votes.

Vardhan had promised to cut power tariff by 30 per cent and slash vegetable prices within 30 days of coming to power.

The BJP has also promised to give 12

Single Page Format
Ads by Google
Reader´s Comments
| Post a Comment
Please Wait while comments are loading...