DST selects PU for policy research centre

Jan 07 2014, 05:37 IST
Comments 0
SummaryVarsity among four educational institutes to have such a centre, will get a grant of Rs 5 crore

The Department of Science and Technology (DST), Government of India, has selected the Panjab University to be among the four educational institutes of the country where a Policy Research Centre will be set up.

For this purpose, the PU will receive a grant of Rs 5 crore for the five-year project being initiated under the supervision of Prof Rupinder Tiwari, Dean of Faculty of Sciences.

The varsity was selected from among the 17 educational institutes which had applied for the programme last year. The other three institutes selected are Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Delhi; Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore; and Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University, Lucknow.

The research project has been launched as part of a programme called Science, Research and Innovation System for High Technology-led path for India (SRISHTI), which is the main goal of Indias new Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) policy-2013. The launch of the project follows the declaration of 2010-20 as the Decade of Innovations by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

Each of the four institutes will work on a theme, and the PU has decided to work on various aspects of industry- academia interaction. We will evaluate why the industries are not coming up to collaborate with universities, said Prof Tiwari. Where is the academia lacking and how can the industries be roped in to participate?

The PU research team will visit various business organisations across the country, and will submit recommendations to the DST based on that experience. All these recommendations made by the Policy Research Centres in the the four institutes will be used by Policy Research Cell of DST to realise the vision of STI-2013.

Prof Tiwari said, Developing countries like India have always relied on the models of the developed world when it comes to framing our policies, especially science policies. But we need to have a policy of our own based on the challenges, aspirations and economic models of our business. It was on this account that this major research project was launched.

The research team, headed by Prof Tiwari, currently consists of Prof Gurmail Singh, from Department of Economics, and Professor M M Gupta, from Department of Physics. More researchers will be hired from various departments of the varsity after the Policy Research Centre is set up. The first instalment of Rs 1 crore is expected to be released by December.

The selection was made by a high-powered committee consisting of representatives from the DST,

Single Page Format
Ads by Google
Reader´s Comments
| Post a Comment
Please Wait while comments are loading...