Himachal student polls: SFI sweeps campus, NSUI takes districts

Aug 18 2013, 04:25 IST
Comments 0
SummaryThe Students Federation of India (SFI), the left-wing student body, swept all posts at the Himachal Pradesh University campus

The Students Federation of India (SFI), the left-wing student body, swept all posts at the Himachal Pradesh University campus while the National Students Union of India (NSUI), an affiliate of the ruling Congress, improved its tally in the nearly 70 colleges in the districts in the Students Central Association (SCA) elections that were held on Saturday. The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), the BJPs student wing, retained its stranglehold in Hamirpur and Mandi districts.

While the NSUI bagged 205 seats, the ABVP secured 163 while the SFI won in 20 seats.

Those elected at Himachal Pradesh University include Rajan Harta (president), Piyush Sewan (general secretary ) and Monika (joint secretary). In the elections for departments representatives (Drs), the ABVP won 23 positions while the SFI took 22; one each were shared by an independent and NSUI.

In all, 65.04 per cent polling was recorded at Himachal Pradesh University - a nerve centre of students politics. Of the total 3,158 voters, 2,054 votes cast their votes.

In Shimla town it was a mixed bag for the the SFI and the ABVP. While ABVP won all posts at the Sanjay Gandhi College, Kotshera, the SFI matched the feat at RKMV.

At Sanjauli college, NSUIs Ishan Sharma was elected as president with Abhishek Nagta was the vice-president; Shivani Chauhan is the general secretary and Madhu Chauhan joint secretary. All are from the NSUI. At Sanskrit college, Phagli, the SFI won the president post while the three other office bearers are from the ABVP in Kangra district, the NSUI emerged as the big winner despite suffering a blow at the Government College in Dharamshala where the ABVP swept all posts. At Baijnath, the ABVP won three seats leaving one to the SFI.

While NSUI did very well in Una and Kinnaur districts, beside Rampur college followed by Sirmaur district .The ABVP retained its hold in Hamirpur and did fairly well in Mandi, Bilaspur and Kullu districts.

Meanwhile BJP state president Satpal Satti ,alleged on Saturday evening that activists of the Congress and NSUI accompanied by police attacked ABVP members at Solan degree college after the students body had swept the polls. Its a serious attempt to create law and order problem. Virbhadra Singh government is to blame for such an attempt on the students activists to misuse to the government machinery, he said.

Ads by Google
Reader´s Comments
| Post a Comment
Please Wait while comments are loading...