Telangana Rashtra Samithi chief K Chandrasekhara Rao sworn-in as first Chief Minister of India's 29th state

Jun 02 2014, 11:26 IST
Comments 0
A view of the illuminated Gate of the Public Garden near assembly on the eve of the Telangana formation day celebrations in Hyderabad. (PTI) A view of the illuminated Gate of the Public Garden near assembly on the eve of the Telangana formation day celebrations in Hyderabad. (PTI)
SummaryPresident’s Rule revoked in Telangana; a 11-member Cabinet also sworn-in.

Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) chief Kalvakuntla Chandrasekhara Rao, 60, was sworn in as the first Chief Minister of Telangana on Monday — the grand finale of the bifurcation process that started on December 9, 2009, when the then UPA government promised KCR, who was at the Nizam’s Institute of Medical Sciences at Hyderabad after undertaking an indefinite fast, that the process of creating a separate state had been set in motion.

Eleven others were also sworn in as Cabinet Ministers by Governor E S L Narasimhan, who administered them oath of office and secrecy at Raj Bhavan.

The Cabinet included Rao's son K T Rama Rao and nephew T Harish Rao.

Nine other Cabinet Ministers are Mohammed Mahmood Ali, T Rajaiah, Nayani Narasimha Reddy, Eatela Rajender, Pocharam Srinivasa Reddy, T Padma Rao, P Mahender Reddy, Jogu Ramanna and G Jagadish Reddy.

The party began on Sunday night itself as special teams from Mumbai lit up the skies in Hyderabad with a dazzling display of perfumed firecrackers. Midnight celebrations heralded the birth of the new state of Telangana on Sunday, ending the decades-old struggle for statehood.

The hour-long celebrations were held mainly at Tank Bund and Necklace Road, abutting the Hussain Sagar lake, which saw many agitations and student protests. Fireworks displays were also held at 50 other places across the twin cities of Hyderabad and Secunderabad.

As the clock struck midnight, “Jaya jayahe Telanganga janani jaya ketanam”, which will be the official song of Telangana state, was played on loudspeakers. The Golconda, Assembly complex, Gun Park, Tank Bund, Necklace Road and monuments in Hyderabad were all lit up.

Before KCR takes oath on Monday, the Governor of undivided Andhra Pradesh E S L Narasimhan took oath as the Governor of Telangana, and President’s Rule revoked in the new state.

President's Rule imposed in united Andhra Pradesh was revoked partially to facilitate swearing in of a government in the newly-created Telangana headed by TRS chief K Chandrasekhar Rao.

However, the central rule will continue in the residual Andhra Pradesh till TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu takes charge as Chief Minister a week later.

The TRS won 63 of the 119 seats in the newly-formed Telangana Assembly.

After the swearing-in ceremony, KCR is scheduled to attend the official Telangana Formation Day celebrations at Parade Grounds, Secunderabad, where he will meet all his party leaders. He is then scheduled to enter the Chief Minister’s Office in Block C

Single Page Format
Ads by Google
Reader´s Comments
| Post a Comment
Please Wait while comments are loading...