KXIP vs SRH: Kings dazzle, many records tumble

May 15 2014, 09:38 IST
Comments 0
SummaryGlenn Maxwell, Wriddhiman Saha, Manan Vohra dazzle as Kings XI Punjab chase down Sunrisers Hyderabad’s 205 comfortably.

It was the fourth ball of the 17th over during the Sunrisers Hyderabad innings — a sharp one from Kings XI Punjab's Mitchell Johnson aimed at David Warner's rib-cage. Warner was hurried into his shot but still managed to arch back and pull it past the short fine leg and to the boundary. The whole sequence highlighted the sluggish nature of the surface.

It was a pitch that offered very little assistance to the bowlers. Still, Hyderabad must have thought they had the match in their pocket after scoring 205 for five in 20 overs. After all, they have had fantastic bowling resources at their disposal.

Scores in excess of 200 are not chased often in this format. But Kings XI Punjab had done it against Chennai Super Kings in the UAE, and they did it again here in a rampaging manner. A six-wicket win was secured with eight balls to spare. And this they did in style, with eight balls to spare and damaging an array of records en route to the victory.

Wriddhiman Saha and Manan Vohra set them on course, taking the attack to Dale Steyn in the second over during the chase. They paired up after Virender Sehwag (4) got out early and played without fear. The fourth ball of Steyn's over was short outside the off stump. Saha pulled it off his front foot to the square leg boundary. A single from the next ball got Vohra on strike. Steyn once again banged it short. This time he saw the ball sail into the stands over the deep midwicket fence. It was complete disregard to reputation. It was exhilarating.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, too, couldn't stem the flow of runs and conceded 15 in the next over as Saha hit three boundaries. The 'keeper-batsman then welcomed Moises Henriques with a six over long off. Vohra chipped in with back-to-back fours.

fastest team hundred

After six overs, Punjab galloped to 86 for one; and with Glenn Maxwell, David Miller and George Bailey waiting in the dug-out, they gained the upper hand. Half way through the eighth over, they had brought up the team 100 — the fastest by any team in the seven seasons of the IPL.

Hyderabad managed to pull things back a little after the first strategic time-out. Saha departed for a scintillating 26-ball 54 — stumped by Naman Ojha off Karn Sharma — and a 91-run (41 balls) second wicket partnership was

Single Page Format
Ads by Google

More from Sports

Reader´s Comments
| Post a Comment
Please Wait while comments are loading...