Noorani clinches pole

Jul 21 2013, 01:56 IST
Comments 0
SummaryPune's Gaurav Mehta 10th fastest, Tanmay Ugale to start in 13th place

Rahil Noorani started off the 2013 season of the Volkswagen Polo R Cup on a high note by setting the fastest lap of the day during the qualifying session of Round one on Saturday. Following him closely was South African driver Jeffrey Kruger in second place with his fastest lap time of 1:14.489. Rookie driver Anshul Shah, with best timing of 1:14.999 took third place while Prashant Singh Tharani, with a best timing of 1:15.114 took fourth spot to fill up the second row of the grid. Of the 20 drivers selected from all over the country for the Polo cup the only one to make it from Pune is Gaurav Mehta who also performed well in the qualifiers held on June 20, notching up the 10th place for himself for the main race on July 21. "I hope to do well on the tracks on Sunday and have worked hard for this event. I am grateful for the support extended to me by my sponsors Venkys and NECC ," said Gaurav, who has just passed out this year from CoEP. Tanmay Ugale, another driver from the city posted a time of 1.16.661 and will start 13th on the grid.

The fourth season of Polo R Cup kicked off with 14 fresh faces from across the country and 7 previous seasons’ drivers battling out for positions on the grid. Prior to the qualifying session, all of the drivers got one dry and one wet practice session on Friday and one dry practice session on Saturday morning. Among the 14 rookie drivers, Anshul Shah showed promise and a natural knack for racing as he set a fastest lap time of 1:14.999, 0.66 seconds behind the fastest driver and took third place in his very first qualifying session.

Ads by Google

More from Pune

Reader´s Comments
| Post a Comment
Please Wait while comments are loading...