UPSC exam row: English comprehension marks wont count, assures government

Aug 05 2014, 10:40 IST
Comments 0
SummaryMarks scored in the "English language comprehension skills" section should not be considered for gradation or merit.

Seeking to resolve the row over the alleged discriminatory nature of the Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT), the Centre said on Monday that it was of the opinion that the marks for the section on English language comprehension skills should not be included for gradation or merit. It also said the 2011 candidates may get a second chance to appear for the exam next year.

Whether this opinion actually translates into policy is still to be seen but if it does, it will redress one of the key issues being raised by the protesting aspirants by ensuring that questions on English language comprehension skills, worth 22.5 marks out of the total 200, will not be counted. The protesters have been demanding the scrapping of the CSAT, alleging that it puts Humanities students and those with a Hindi background at a disadvantage.

If implemented, this opinion will also allow the government to conduct the Civil Services Preliminary Examination as per schedule on August 24. The government had earlier asked the UPSC to postpone the exam. The UPSC was learnt to have opposed this, citing the largescale logistical preparations that have already gone into the exercise.

The government is of the opinion that in the Civil Services Preliminary Examination Paper II, the marks of the question section on English language comprehension skills should not be included for gradation or merit, Dr Jitendra Singh, MoS, Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, told Parliament on Monday.

He also said that candidates who appeared in Civil Services Examination 2011 may be given one more attempt in 2015. This, ostensibly, is to provide a fresh chance to those who may have felt disadvantaged when the pattern of the exam was first changed in 2011.

Till 2010, the Civil Services Preliminary exam consisted of two papers one on general studies and one on an optional subject (aspirants could choose one of 23 listed subjects). From 2011, the UPSC decided to replace the optional subject paper with a paper that tests the aspirants aptitude.

This second paper, of 200 marks, comprises comprehension, inter-personal skills including communication skills, logical reasoning and analytical ability, decision making and problem solving, general mental ability, basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude, etc Class X level), data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency, etc Class X level) and English language comprehension skills (Class X level).

While the issue has led to uproar and adjournments in Parliament

Single Page Format
Ads by Google
Reader´s Comments
| Post a Comment
Please Wait while comments are loading...