20 reasons for Arvind Kejriwal's AAP Choices

Feb 18 2014, 14:03 IST
Comments 0
A look at the Lok Sabha candidates of Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party. PTI A look at the Lok Sabha candidates of Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party. PTI
SummaryA look at what drove the selection of Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) first batch of LS candidates.

Journalism to politics

Ashutosh Chandni Chowk, vs Kapil Sibal

Formerly managing editor with IBN7, Ashutosh wrote a book on the Jan Lokpal movement, Anna: 13 days that awakened India, while he was still a journalist. Since he joined the party two months ago, Ashutosh has been thrust into a leadership role, and become one of the party’s chief spokespersons to the media.

Mukul Tripathi Farrukhabad, vs Salman Khurshid

He is a Lucknow-based activist and journalist who runs several campaigns for the physically impaired and won the Shreshth Viklang Karmi Award in 2009. He has been in touch with the party after Kejriwal joined an agitation against alleged corruption by the Zakir Hussain Memorial Trust, run by Farrukhabad’s incumbent MP, Salman Khurshid.

Mass movements

Medha Patkar Mumbai Northeast, vs Sanjay Dina Patil (NCP)

Founder of the Narmada Bachao Andolan and a social activist who has been at the forefront of the protests against the Sardar Sarovar project. Winner of many awards, including the Goldman Environmental Prize, Amnesty International’s Human Rights Defender’s Award and the BBC’s Green Ribbon Award.

Alok Agarwal Khandwa, vs Arun Yadav (Cong)

A close aide of Medha Patkar, he is a veteran of the Narmada Bachao Andolan And leading the movement in Madhya Pradesh. He has espoused the cause of Swaraj. Agarwal, 46, hails from UP and graduated from IIT Kanpur. He taught Dalit students before becoming a full-time NBA activist in 1990. He is unmarried and says he has no property.

Subhash Ware Pune, vs Suresh Kalmadi

Ware is a social activist, formerly Maharashtra president of the Chhatra Bharati movement. He was involved in the India Against Corruption movement. In Pune, where he will take on Suresh Kalmadi, he has opposed the municipal corporation move to introduce public-private partnerships in civic work. He has been a member of the Rashtra Seva Dal and is now in the AAP national committee.

Soumendra Dhaka Baghpat, vs Ajit Singh

Former president of the Baghpat Bar Association, Dhaka has taken up farmer issues, especially those involved in sugarcane. Before he began working for the AAP in 2012, he used to be known in the area as a loyalist of Ajit Singh, ironically the MP he will take on.

Lingaraj Bargarh, vs Sanjay Bhoi (Cong)

A former national president of the Samajwadi Jan Parishad, of which Yogendra Yadav too was part. Before joining the AAP, the farmers’ activist contested the assembly elections in 2004 and 2009 from Bargarh as an independent, campaigning on a bicycle.

Single Page Format
Ads by Google
Reader´s Comments
| Post a Comment
Please Wait while comments are loading...